K-Movies

My Scary Girl

Image

Thoroughly enjoyed!

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but this movie could easily be a crowd pleaser; especially if you like a little bit…and I mean a SMIDGE of dark comedy.

Movie synopsis:

Dae Woo is an English Literature Professor. He’s 30 and has never had a girlfriend. With the urging from his best friend, Dae Woo finally got the courage to ask out Mina, a woman that just moved into his apartment building. Being a perfectionist, Dae Woo planned out everything for their first date including the lines he would say. Although his prepared lines weren’t effective, they still somehow clicked and began dating. As their relationship develops and they spend more time together, Dae Woo notices weird things with Mina. Why does she have a kimchi refrigerator with no kimchi in it? Why doesn’t she know who Piet Mondrian is, despite being an art major and having a print of one of his pieces? Why hasn’t she heard of Dostoevsky? Her roommate swears like a sailor and dates a thug. Eventually, Dae Woo hires a private investigator to find out more about Mina, and he discovers more than he bargained for.

Final thoughts:

As in my first post, I will always do my best to avoid spoilers; however, if I do give up important info, I will let you know prior to the spoiler statement and/or paragraph! ^^

I began watching this movie without knowing who was in it. I tend to do that with movies I randomly pick because I like being surprised. When I recognize actors or actresses, it gives me something to look forward to since (in my opinion) many of the repeat actors I’ve seen are so dynamic in such a way that they aren’t typically typecast.

It was a pleasant surprise to see Choi Kang Hee. She’s definitely in the top 5 of my favorite Korean actresses, and hovers between the No. 1 & 2 spot on a consistent basis. (I’ll cover my favorites in another post ^^) I appreciate her versatility, and thought she did an incredible job in this role.

At this point, I haven’t seen anything else with Park Yong Woo, but I liked his performance and look forward to seeing him again.

Although not your ordinary Rom-Com, I would definitely recommend My Scary Girl as one to watch!

I give this movie a 3.5/5

Standard

Leave a Reply

