K-Dramas

Boys Over Flowers

BoysOverFlowers-p2

The drama that lit the fuse for major “second-lead syndrome.”

If you are a newcomer to K-Dramas, first off, WELCOME~! Secondly, I would definitely put this at the top of the list as a MUST SEE. Since my initial introduction to K-Pop and K-Dramas happened on my own, I didn’t have anyone to make suggestions of who to listen to or what to watch. I sort of stumbled into things as they came along, and fed my curiosity based on what I found.

(This is another example of a drama that I only watched because it was about to expire. It’s sad, I know, but sometimes one really doesn’t know what they have in their queue until it’s ALMOST too late! ) ^^

Now that I have a few friends that have similar K-interests, I’ve learned that Boys Over Flowers is a drama that should be shared with K-Drama newbies! Depending on your “likes,” I definitely agree. 😉

Drama synopsis:

Set at a famous high school for the super-wealthy, this is a puppy love story centered on a poor girl and the F4 gang of rich kids headed by the rough and fearless Jun Pyo Goo.

Geum Jan Di is a girl from a poor family but has an unrivaled sense of optimism and drive and is by chance admitted to a prestigious private high school.

There she meets the infamous group of four astonishingly good looking and rich boys who are known as F4. The group’s leader is Goo Jun Pyo, is a spoiled heir to world-leading conglomerate Shinhwa. He is joined by mysterious and breathlessly handsome Yun Ji Hoo, So Lee Jeong, and Song Woo Bin. Their love story moves from Seoul to New Caledonia to Macau.

Okay, so if you can get past the fact that it seems like a show for high-schoolers, you’ll be okay. I promise. Here are a few things “I” feel you should know going into the drama:

  1. There are 25 episodes. ‘Most’ dramas tend to stick between 16 or 20 episodes, but this one has 25, and each one is worth every single second of your time.
  2. If you’ve never had a drama marathon, you will now! (I think I watched at least 3-4 episodes a day…and the last day, I watched 6!)
  3. If you don’t know what “second-lead syndrome” is, you will. Trust me.
  4. You will fall in love.
  5. You will fall in hate.
  6. You will laugh.
  7. You will cry.
  8. You will need Kleenex, and a lot of it.
  9. If you are female, you will google the names of these handsome guys. (If you’re a noona, like myself, you can rest easy knowing that “F4” are all in their mid-late 20’s now…you’re welcome 😉 )
  10. You will find yourself thinking about the drama, even after it has ended. (If you’re interested in finding more dramas with any one of these actors, I can help!)

Here are a few facts that may or may not make a couple of these guys even MORE appealing to you:

Lee Min Ho can sing:

So can Kim Hyun Joong (He’s the leader of SS501 as well as a solo artist):

…and just because I’m biased, here’s KHJ’s newest track:

Final thoughts…

I really liked this drama. It was full of love, romance, humor, drama, and even suspense. Each character experienced growth (or some other form of transformation) throughout the series, which made the story all the more compelling. It will take you on a ride, especially with your emotions, but it’s well worth it! I definitely wish I had watched Boys Over Flowers sooner, but now that I finally have, I totally understand what the hype was all about! Now it’s my turn to share it with fellow K-drama fans~!

If you have questions, or just want to chat about this series (or any series!), please feel free to leave a comment, or email me at fromjenm2u@gmail.com.

Standard

Leave a Reply

