Misc. Hallyu

Doenjang Jjigae [Korean soybean paste & veggie stew]

 

I finally made it!

Yep. I’ve been wanting to make doenjang jjigae for sooooo… long, but never got around to it for one reason or another; mostly because I was worried that it wouldn’t turn out right, but my wonderful friend provided me with a Ziploc bag of dried anchovies that she had received straight from South Korea, so I knew I was already set for a successful stew! 😉

I finally had everything I needed, so I decided that tonight was the night. I made the anchovy stock, chopped all my veggies, prepped the soybean paste, and was ready to go!

Although I didn’t take pictures of every step, I did get most of them. (I’ll post the recipe below the pics ^^)

Check out the pictures below:

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 5

I didn’t have a stone pot, so I used my dutch oven. This is a picture after having made the anchovy stock (boiled dried anchovies for approx. 10 minutes), and adding the soybean paste & half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes.

Jen's Doenjang jjigae

While letting the stock and soybean paste boil, I chopped up 2 small potatoes, a quarter of an onion, 3 cloves of garlic, and a whole green chili pepper.

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 6

After approx. 3-5 minutes of boiling, I added the plate of veggies (chopped potato, onion, green chili, and garlic) to the pot.

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 2

While the pot of veggies boiled, I chopped up approx. 5-6 scallions (green onion), and cut a half of a block of firm tofu into big pieces.

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 7

After about 5-7 minutes of allowing the stew to boil (and making sure the potatoes were cooked through), I added the scallion and tofu to the pot, and let it simmer for an additional 3-4 minutes.

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 3

Voila~! ^^ I served a bowl of doenjang jjigae with slow roasted pork medallions (pieces) and sticky white rice. (**Note: This is my husband’s plate, he doesn’t like tofu, so I served his stew without any tofu in it.)

Jen's Doenjang jjigae 4

…and here’s my bowl! I ❤ tofu~! ^^

I am extremely happy with how it turned out; especially for it being my first time! The only thing I would change next time is to either add less paste, or add just a touch more water (which has been accounted for in my version of the recipe below~).

As for the recipe, I took tips from various sources, and combined them to fit how I generally cook.

Check out my version below:

Ingredients:

Anchovy Stock:

6 C. Water (this has already been modified. I originally used only 5 1/2 C. of water tonight, but added another 1/2 C. at the end, and it made a big difference~)
12 dried anchovies – no heads or guts (*note- I put them in a coffee filter, folded it, and stapled it shut. That way, I was able to remove the whole thing with tongs instead of trying to fish all
the tiny pieces out – no pun intended! 😉 )
Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium-high, and boil for approx. 10 minutes

Veggies:

2 small potatoes, cut into bite size pieces
1 small onion, or 1/4 of a large onion, chopped
1-2 green chili peppers, thinly sliced
3 cloves of garlic, diced (add more or less to your liking)
5-7 scallions (green onion), chopped
1/2 container of firm tofu, sliced into big chunks
1/2 tsp. Red Pepper Flakes/Crushed Red Pepper

4 Tbsp. Soybean Paste (use a mesh strainer dipped in your pot to dissolve paste so it’s not clumpy, or spoon in a little at a time, making sure it’s dissolved completely)

Directions (assuming everything is prepped):

Bring 6 cups of water and dried anchovies to a boil, then reduce to med-high and let lightly boil for about 10 minutes.
Remove anchovies from pot and discard
Add Soybean paste
Add Red Pepper Flakes
Boil for approx. 3-5 minutes
Add all the veggies to the pot, stir, then let boil for 5-7 minutes (you want to make sure your potatoes are cooked through, but not falling apart or mushy)
Add Scallion and tofu, gently stir, and let simmer for 3-4 more minutes
Ready to serve! ^^

It’s yummy with rice. You can either put rice in your bowl, or take a spoon of rice and dip it in the stew. Mashitda~!

Notes~

You can add zucchini or daikon radish, but my husband doesn’t like either, which is why I used potatoes! ^^
If there’s any foam that sits on top of the stew while it’s cooking, be sure to scoop it off with wooden spoon.

Enjoy~!

Please feel free to share your comments below! You can also chat with me on twitter @fangurl_365 and on Facebook by clicking here!

Standard

Leave a Reply

